Home » good things » Paper or Digital?

Paper or Digital?

Plinky asked do I prefer to write notes on paper or on an electronic device. I think it depends on the situation. I correspond all the time with people via email, twitter and facebook and I have done my share of blogging and electronic journaling, but there are some times when I just need to write things down on paper. I’m a big fan of to do lists and post it notes. I suppose I could save some trees and do those lists on a device, but I guess old habits die hard. If I find myself having a hard time grasping concepts, I’ll whip out a notebook and write things down. Sometimes it helps me to remember things and work out problems. My kids are much bigger fans of computer use and communication. Sometimes I think it is a sad thing because of the ways it has helped me express myself, but maybe this is a part of progress. Sigh.

Powered by Plinky

2 thoughts on “Paper or Digital?

  1. Research has proven that there is something about the process of writing information that helps the brain retain it. I thought about this topic today I was started planning out 2012. I discovered that for planning purposes I have to use pen and paper but for the stages that go beyond using digital is fine. I find I still trust pen and paper over digital which can disappear. Pen and paper are more tactile.

    • I’m a big pen and paper planner too. I get into it with my son a lot of the time because I’m trying to help him be organized with his studies and he just does not get the concept of keeping track of things by writing them down.

Leave a Reply

